General Co-Chairs

Sandor Imre BUTE, Budapest, Hungary Jon Crowcroft Univ. of Cambridge, England

General Vice-Chair

Fabrizio Granelli Univ. of Trento, Italy

Technical Program Co-Chairs

Renato LoCigno Univ. of Trento, Italy Jennifer Hou Univ. of Illinois, U.S.A.

Steering Committee Chair

Imrich Chlamtac Create-Net, Italy

Steering Committee Vice-Chair

Marco Conti IIT-CNR, Italy

Workshops Co-Chairs

Csaba A. Szabo BUTE, Budapest, Hungary Buyurman Baykal MÉTU, Ankare, Turkey

Publicity Co-Chairs

Yuan Gao Lucent Technologies Bell Laboratories Rong Zheng University of Houston, Texas, U.S.A.

Tutorial Chair

Haiyun Luo Univ. of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, U.S.A.

Industry Liason Chair

N. Sai Shankar Philips Research Laboratories, U.S.A.

Finance Chair

Karen Decker ICST, U.S.A.

Local Chair

Zsolt Pandi BUTE, Budapest, Hungary

Technical Program Committee

Arup Acharya (IBM Research, USA) Eitan Altman (INRIA, FR) Giuseppe Bianchi (Univ.Roma II, IT) Levente Buttyan (BUTE, HU) Andrew Campbell (Columbia Univ, USA) Carla-Fabiana Chiasserini (POLITO, IT) Francesca Cuomo (Univ.Roma I, IT) Samir R. Das (Stony Brook Univ., USA) Anthony Ephraemides (Univ. Maryland, USA) Luigi Fratta (POLIMI, IT) Mario Gerla (UCLA, USA) Stefano Giordano (Univ. Pisa, IT) Silvia Giordano (SUPSI Lugano, CH) Fabrizio Granelli (Univ. of Trento, IT) Rajesh Gupta (UCSD, USA) Jennifer C. Hou (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) Richard La (Univ. Maryland, USA) Berndt Lamparter (NEC Europe Ltd.) Lars-Ake Larzon (Uppsala Univ., SW) Renato Lo Cigno (Univ. of Trento, IT) Songwu Lu (UCLA, USA) Gerald (Chip) Maguire (KTH, SW) Petri Mahonen (Aachen Univ. Tech.,DE) Michela Meo (POLIMI, IT) Sergio Palazzo (Univ. Catania, IT) Adrian Perrig (Carnegie-Mellon Univ., USA) Lili Qiu (Microsoft Research, USA) N. Sai Shankar (Philips Research Labs, USA) Puneet Sharma (HP Labs, USA) Raghupathy Sivakumar (GeorgiaTech, USA) Ioanniss Stavrakakis (Univ. Piraeus, GR) Ivan Stojmenovic (Univ. Ottawa, CA) Yu-Chee Tseng (Nat'l Chiao-Tung Univ., TW) Hung-Ying Tyan (Fujitsu Labs, USA) Guillaume Urvoy-Keller (EURECOM, FR) Bernhard Walke (Aachen Univ. of Tech., DE) Menzo Wentink (Globespan/Conexant, NL) Lixia Zhang (UCLA, USA) Michele Zorzi (Univ. of Padova, IT)



First International Wireless Internet Conference



Technically co-sponsored by IEEE Communications Society
Endorsed by Communications Systems Integration and Modeling,
Computer Communications, and Internet Technical Committees of IEEE

CALL FOR PARTICIPATION

The Wireless Internet conference (WICON) is a premier international forum for discussions between industrial and academic researchers, practitioners, and students interested in the next generation Wireless Internet. WICON represents the convergence point for several different communities of academic and industrial researchers working in the wireless-internet arena. High scientific quality combined with industrial relevance constitutes the target of this conference.

The conference addresses all research topics related to the emerging Next Generation Internet, aimed to provide seamless connectivity, richer services, and better quality for wireless data users while supporting heterogeneity in: (i) communication technologies (ranging from high-bandwidth low error-rate pico-cells to low-bandwidth high error-rate macro-cells); (ii) network architectures (cellular, peer-to-peer, or other hybrid network models); and (iii) applications (ranging from low-data rate non-real-time applications to high-data rate real-time applications).

Next generation wireless Internet (also referred to as 4G) will be driven by an explosion of pervasive computing and communications devices resulting from advances in integrated circuits, displays, software radios, embedded operating systems, wireless protocols, services and software technologies. Technologies include, among others, IEEE 802.11, 802.15, 802.16, Mobile IP, micro-mobility protocols, IP paging, wireless TCP, wireless IP QOS, mobile ad hoc networks, and the 3G architecture. Focus will be on integrating different types of wireless networks with wire-line backbone network seamlessly, and convergence of voice, and data traffic over a single IP based core network.

The conference program is available at http://www.wicon.org. The conference features:

- Eight technical sessions consisting of 28 high-quality technical papers
- Four half-day tutorials (offered by Prof. Leandros Tassiulas, University of Thessaly, Greece, Prof. Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France, Prof. P. R. Kumar, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA, and Dr. Paolo Santi, Istituto di Informatica e Telematica del NR, Italy) and one full-day tutorial (offered by Dr. Rajeev Koodli, Nokia Research Center, USA)
- Keynote speech by Prof. P.R. Kumar, "Architecture and Protocols in Wireless Networks"
- Two panels (organized by Renato Lo Cigno and Pap Laszlo) addressing the industry and academic challenges of Wireless Internets.

Workshops: the following one-day workshop will be held in conjunction with the conference

- CONWIN: convergence of heterogeneous wireless networks (July 10, http://www.conwin.org)
- MESHNETS: wireless mesh network (July 10, http://www.meshnets.org)
- SENSORFUSION: information fusion and dissemination in wireless sensor networks (July 14, http://www.sensorfusion.org)
- ESAS: security and privacy in ad hoc and sensor networks (July 14-15, http://www.crysys.hu/esas2005)

For further information: http://www.wicon.org