Font Size: research conference europe communications workshop

Keynote Speakers

Conference Keynote Speaker

Prof. Dr. Edward W. Knightly

Rice Networks Group, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rice University, Houston, Texas, USA


Multi-tier Multi-hop Wireless: The Road Ahead


Large scale urban wireless networks are increasingly employing wireless links not only for client access, but also for backhaul and higher aggregation tiers. In this talk, I will describe the state-of-the-art and road ahead for large-scale urban wireless networking, including protocols, platforms, emerging applications, research challenges, and case studies. I will draw on our experiences of deployment, operation, and research on a high density wireless access network in Houston.


Dr. Edward W. Knightly is a professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Rice University. He joined Rice in 1996 and was a visiting professor at EPFL in Lausanne, Switzerland in 2003. He received the B.S. degree from Auburn University in 1991 and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of California at Berkeley in 1992 and 1996 respectively. Dr. Knightly received the National Science Foundation CAREER Award in 1997 and has been a Sloan Fellow since 2001.

Dr. Knightly is an associate editor for multiple journals including IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, and the Computer Networks Journal, and served as guest editor for the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas of Communications Special Issue on Multi-Hop Wireless Mesh Networks. He is serving as general chair of ACM MobiSys 2007, and served as technical co-chair of IEEE INFOCOM 2005, the 2005 ACM SIGCOMM Workshop on Experimental Approaches to Wireless Network Design and Analysis (E-WIND), and IEEE/IFIP IWQoS 1998. He regularly serves on the program committee for numerous networking conferences including IEEE ICNP, IEEE INFOCOM, ACM MobiCom, and ACM SIGMETRICS.

Dr. Knightly's research interests are in the areas of mobile and wireless networks and high-performance and denial-of-service resilient protocol design. His experimental research includes deployment and operation of a programmable 3,000 user wireless network in Houston, TX, and design of a high-performance FPGA platform for clean-slate wireless protocol design. His protocol designs include fairness mechanisms that are now part of the IEEE 802.11s mesh and IEEE 802.17 packet ring standards.

Conference Keynote Speaker

Prof. Dr. Sajal K. Das

Director, Center for Research in Wireless Mobility and Networking (CReWMaN)
The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas, USA


Information Intensive Wireless Sensor Networks: Challenges and Solutions


Tremendous advancements in embedded systems, sensors and wireless communications technology have made it possible to build large-scale wireless sensor networks (WSNs). Due to their potential applications, WSNs have attracted significant attention to the industry, academic, and government organizations. In particular, by commanding a large number of distributed and coordinated sensor nodes, WSNs can effectively act as the human-physical world interface in future digital world through sensing and actuating. However, the inherent characteristics of WSNs typified by extremely scarce resources (e.g., bandwidth, CPU, memory and battery power), high degree of uncertainty, and lack of centralized control pose significant challenges in providing the desired quality, information assurance, reliability, and security. This is particularly important for mission critical applications that involve information intensive WSNs including video sensors.

In this talk, we will examine the uncertainty-driven unique challenges and key research problems in information intensive wireless sensor networks in the areas of aggregation, clustering, routing, data dissemination, coverage and connectivity, and security. We will present our novel solutions to some of these problems and conclude with future directions.


Dr. Sajal K. Das received B.S. degree from Calcutta University (1983), M.S. degree from IISc Bangalore (1984), and PhD degree from University of Central Florida (1988), all in computer science.

Currently Dr. Das is a Distinguished Scholar Professor of Computer Science and Engineering and the Founding Director of the Center for Research in Wireless Mobility and Networking (CReWMaN) at the University of Texas at Arlington (UTA). He is also a Visiting Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur and IIT Guwahati; Honorary Professor of Fudan University in Shanghai and Advisory Professor of Beijing Jiaotong University, China; and Visiting Scientist at the Institute of Infocomm Research (I2R), Singapore.

His current research interests include smart environments, sensor networks, security, mobile and pervasive computing, resource and mobility management in wireless networks, mobile Internet, mobile grid computing, biological networking, applied graph theory and game theory. He has published over 400 papers at international conferences and journals, and over 30 invited book chapters. He holds five US patents in wireless networks and mobile Internet, and coauthored the book "Smart Environments: Technology, Protocols, and Applications" (John Wiley, 2005).

Dr. Das is a recipient of Best Paper Awards in IEEE PerCom'06, ACM MobiCom'99, ICOIN'02, ACM MSwiM'00 and ACM/IEEE PADS'97. He is also a recipient of UTA Academy of Distinguished Scholars Award (2006), University Award for Distinguished Record of Research (2005), College of Engineering Research Excellence Award (2003), and Outstanding Faculty Research Award in Computer Science (2001 and 2003).

He serves as the Founding Editor-in-Chief of Pervasive and Mobile Computing (PMC) journal (Elsevier), and Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, ACM/Springer Wireless Networks, IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, and Journal of Peer-to-Peer Networking. He is the founder of IEEE WoWMoM and co-founder of IEEE PerCom conferences. He has served as General or Technical Program Chair as well as TPC member of numerous IEEE and ACM conferences. He serves on IEEE TCCC and TCPP Executive Committees.